2022-2023 Scholarship Recipients

For the 2022-2023 academic year, EMLF gave $30,000 to eight students from five different member law schools, including the presentation of the first scholarship from the Sharon Daniels Scholarship fund. After the passing of former EMLF executive director Sharon Daniels in April, EMLF members donated to her namesake scholarship fund, founded in 2018. Their generosity made it possible to make the first grant ever from the Sharon Daniels Scholarship: $1,000 to WVU student Emma Duncan. Duncan also received $4,000 from the Cabot Scholarship, established in 2012 as a result of a litigation settlement, which funds scholarships for students at West Virginia University School of Law..

As part of its mission to foster the study of energy and mineral law, $700,000 in scholarships has been given by EMLF. This year’s Scholarship Committee met on May 20, and reviewed 21 applications. The committee: Nicolle Bagnell, Reed Smith; Buzz Bellville, Appalachian School of Law; Dick Emens, Emens Wolper; Melanie Kilpatrick, Williams Kilpatrick; Blake Klinkner, Washburn University; Tom Lane, Bowles Rice; Joseph Reinhart, Babst Calland; and Ernest Smith, University of Texas.

The James H. Davis Scholarship was established in 2004 primarily through donations from the National Council of Coal Lessors and its members, for students with Appalachian roots. This year, the scholarship amount was increased to $1,500, and the recipient was Jacob Snuffer, Appalachian School of Law, also a recipient of $3,500 from the EMLF general fund.

The Mary Sue Schulberg Scholarship is given annually in remembrance of Mary Sue, a former president and longtime member of EMLF. Two scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each were presented to Kendra Amick, from West Virginia University, who also received $1,000 from the EMLF general fund; and Avery Steen, from Southern Methodist University, a recipient of $3,000 from the EMLF general fund.

Additional EMLF general fund scholarships: $5,000 to Jay Callahan, Appalachian School of Law; $3,000 to Tyler Compston, West Virginia University; $3,000 to Aaron Cromer, University of Houston; and $1,000 to James Anderson, Louisiana State University.

Share This