The John L. McClaugherty Award

Each year, the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation honors one of its members with the John L. McClaugherty Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of energy and mineral law and to the Foundation itself.  Previous winners include many former presidents, program chairs, and others whose leadership has shaped EMLF, and who are recognized as industry and community leaders.  EMLF is extremely proud to be associated with and honor these past recipients.

  • Neal Pierce – 2003
  • Thomas C. Means – 2004
  • Thomas Lane – 2005
  • Russell L. Schetroma (deceased) – 2006
  • Joseph J. Zaluski – 2007
  • Edward M. Green – 2008
  • Sharon J. Daniels – 2009
  • David G. Ries – 2010
  • Timothy W. Gresham – 2011
  • Maureen D. Carman – 2012
  • David Morrison – 2013
  • Sean Cassidy – 2014
  • Robert G. McLusky -2015
  • Karen J. Greenwell – 2016
  • Sharon O. Flanery – 2017
  • Kevin K. Douglass – 2018
  • John T. Boyd II – 2019
  • Kevin Abbott – 2020
  • Erin E. Magee – 2021
  • Tim Miller – 2022
  • Natalie Jefferis – 2023

The late John L. McClaugherty (1931-2003) was a former member and past president of the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation (then named the Eastern Mineral Law Foundation).  Mr. McClaugherty was a native of Princeton, West Virginia, who attended Northwestern University and the West Virginia University College of Law.  He served as a Staff Judge Advocate in the U.S. Air Force before joining the law firm Jackson Kelly in 1959, where he later became the managing member for nearly twenty years.  Civic-minded, Mr. McClaugherty served as chief counsel to the Senate of West Virginia Counsel on the Judiciary from 1967 to 1975, and held numerous community leadership positions including President of the Board of Directors of the West Virginia Symphony Orchestra.  He also frequently volunteered his time in service to the bar through his involvement with the American Bar Association, the American Judicature Society, the American Bar Foundation, the West Virginia Bar Foundation, the West Virginia State Bar Association, the Kanawha County Bar Association, and the West Virginia Judicial Council, among others.

To nominate a colleague for the McClaugherty Award, please e-mail with the name and a paragraph supporting the nomination.

Share This