March 26, 2009

30th Annual Institute – May 16-19, 2009 – Hilton Head Island, SC
Program brochures are in the mail, but in the meantime you can register online online for the 30th Annual Institute, and make room reservations at the Hilton Oceanfront Resort. Program contains from 12-14.4 hours of CLE and credit will also be available from AAPL. A special feature will be a three-hour Monday afternoon workshop for landmen on Division of Royalties, conducted by Sean Cassidy, Greensburg, PA.

Deadline for EMLF Scholarship Applications – April 1, 2009
Scholarships totaling $32,500 are available to students attending EMLF member law schools. April 1 is the deadline for application form, official transcripts and two letters of recommendation. Go to the EMLF website to obtain the application form and all information. Scholarships will be announced at the 30th Annual Institute.

Nominations for the John L. McClaugherty Award
Nominations are being accepted for the 2009 recipient of the John L. McClaugherty Award, to be presented during the 30th Annual Institute. Nominations for the Award should be submitted by April 15 to the Executive Director, Energy & Mineral Law Foundation, 340 South Broadway, Lexington, KY 40508 or sent via email.

The McClaugherty Award recognizes outstanding service to the EMLF, the legal professional and the energy and mineral industry. Nominees for this award should exemplify high standards for commitment and accomplishment in promoting the goals of the EMLF. Active participation in the EMLF will be important criteria for this award. Past recipients are R. Neal Pierce, Thomas C. Means, Russell L. Schetroma, J. Thomas Lane and Joseph J. Zaluski.

Coal Law Short Course – August 2-6, 2009
Planning is nearly complete for the comprehensive Coal Law Short Course to be taught at West Virginia University College of Law this summer, with the following faculty now confirmed: Laura E. Beverage, Denver, CO; Richard J. Bolen, Huntington, WV; John T. Boyd, Canonsburg, PA; Professor Barlow Burke, Washington, DC; Timothy W. Gresham, Abingdon, VA; Warren J. Hoffmann, Lexington, KY; J. Thomas Lane, Charleston, WV; David J. Laurent, Pittsburgh, PA; Professor Patrick C. McGinley, Morgantown, WV; Thomas E. Meng, Lexington, KY; Kirsten L. Nathanson, Washington, DC; Christopher B. Power, Charleston, WV; John E. Rhine, Evansville, IN; Robert M. Steptoe, Jr., Clarksburg, WV; C. Seth Wilson, Morgantown, WV; and John L. Woodrum, Washington, DC.

An optional tour of coal mining operations will be available on August 6. Watch the EMLF website for additional program details and registration information.

EMLF Board of Trustees Annual Meeting – Elections

The Board of Trustees will meet on Monday, May 18 for a luncheon during the Annual Institute, at which time the Nominating Committee will provide a slate of nominees for Trustees at Large, Officers and Executive Committee members. The Nominating Committee welcomes suggestions and expressions of interest from members interested in becoming involved in the governance of the Foundation. Correspondence to the Nominating Committee should be sent by March 30.

EMLF Update
The current issue of the EMLF Update contains an analysis of recent cases on energy law, prepared by the Energy Practice Group of Steptoe & Johnson PLLC. Many thanks to the lawyers at Steptoe for this service, found in the What’s New section of the EMLF website.

Date for Mineral Law Conference Changed to October 28-30, 2009
Please change your calendars to show that the Kentucky Mineral Law Conference at the Marriott Griffin Gate in Lexington will be held two weeks later than originally scheduled. The conference will begin on Wednesday afternoon with the oil and gas track; the general sessions and joint reception with the Kentucky Coal Association will be on Thursday; and the coal track with the KCA will be Friday morning. No sessions will be held in Marriott’s climate-controlled tent this year.

Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This