Law Student Scholarship Application Deadline May 1


Important:  Law Student Scholarship Application Deadline is Tuesday, May 1, 2018 

The EMLF will award $30,000 in scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year to law students attending EMLF member schools.  Download the application form from the EMLF website and don’t miss the application deadline!

Schetroma Travel Scholarships to Nashville for Law Students

Students at EMLF member law schools are eligible to apply for reimbursement for travel and lodging expenses to attend the Annual Institute at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel. The late Russ Schetroma, an oil and gas lawyer from Meadville, PA, established a trust fund so that law students could more easily attend the Annual Institutes and become involved in the EMLF.

If you are a law student currently enrolled at an EMLF member law school, you are eligible to apply for reimbursement of transportation costs to Nashville by car or plane, up to three nights at Marriott’s Renaissance Nashville Hotel, and a $200 meals stipend.

Download the PDF  for full details and application form.

Nominations Open for 2018 John L. McClaugherty Award

Given annually since 2004, the McClaugherty Award honors an EMLF Member who exemplifies a continuing involvement and commitment to the EMLF, the legal profession, and the energy and mineral industry.  The McClaugherty Award is the Foundation’s highest recognition of an EMLF member’s contributions.  John McClaugherty was a friend, colleague, philanthropist, and mentor to many young attorneys, fostering their interest in mineral law and encouraging their support for the Foundation’s programs and projects.

The McClaugherty Award is presented each year at the Annual Institute, chosen by a committee of all past recipients of the award.  Nominations can be made via email to Sharon Daniels, Executive Director, at sharon@emlf.org, or by letter of recommendation to the EMLF at 320 South Broadway, Suite 101, Lexington, KY 40508.  Nominations should be made by May 25, 2018.

Past recipients, in order of the award, are R. Neal Pierce, Thomas C. Means, J. Thomas Lane, Russell L. Schetroma (deceased), Joseph J. Zaluski, Edward M. Green, Sharon J. Daniels, David G. Ries, Timothy W. Gresham, Maureen D. Carman, C. David Morrison, Sean Cassidy, Robert G. McLusky, Karen J. Greenwell, and Sharon O. Flanery.

The 2018 McClaugherty Award will be presented during the 39th Annual Institute luncheon on June 18, at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

39th Annual Energy & Mineral Law Institute, June 17-19, 2018

Many sponsorship opportunities are still available to support the Annual Institute.  Click here for a complete list of available opportunities.

For complete program brochure with online registration form and Renaissance Nashville Hotel reservation link, go to the EMLF website.


Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This