February 8, 2013

Special Institute on Title and Development Issues in the Utica Shale
–Online Registration Now Available

The April 14-16 program is now open for registration.  Go to the online brochure for complete program schedule and to register for the conference.  You are now able to register multiple persons on the online EMLF form.

The program is at the Hilton Columbus at Easton, where a block of rooms is reserved for EMLF attendees through March 24 or sell-out.  Call 614.414.5000 and ask for the EMLF group rate, or register online using the group online reservation link through the EMLF website.  You are able to make multiple room reservations using this link.

The program begins Sunday evening, April 14, with a reception and dinner, followed by guest speaker Regina Gregory, Vice President and General Counsel of Access Midstream Partners in Oklahoma City.  Ms. Gregory’s presentation will be informative of the infrastructure build-up and what is needed to fully develop the massive reserves of the Utica shale.

Our program planning committee has worked hard to develop an outstanding program for people currently working in Ohio, for those contemplating doing business in the Utica shale, and for those whose property is part of the Utica shale development area.  There are twenty-seven speakers for the program, representing perspectives of both the landowner/lessor and the operating company/lessee.  Application will be made for AAPL credit and for multiple state bar accreditation.  It contains 885 minutes of continuing education, and approximately 14.75 hours of Continuing Legal Education in 60-minute states and 17.7 hours of CLE in 50-minute states.

Utica Shale Program Committee:  Gregory D. Russell, Chair, Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, Columbus, OH; Michael J. Barron, EQT Production, Washington, PA; Sean Cassidy, Cassidy and Associates, Greensburg, PA; Sharon J. Daniels, EMLF, Lexington, KY; J. Thomas Lane, Bowles Rice LLP, Charleston, WV; R. Neal Pierce, Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC, Columbus, OH; Daniel T. Sweeney, Chesapeake Energy, Oklahoma City, OK; Joseph A. Tarantelli, Chesapeake Energy, Oklahoma City, OK; William J. Taylor, Kincaid, Taylor & Geyer, Zanesville, OH; and Michael K. Vennum, Burleson LLP, Canonsburg, PA.

EMLF Law Student Scholarship Program
The EMLF will award $50,000 in scholarships to deserving students at EMLF member law schools for the 2013-2014 academic year.  Complete information and application forms are available at https://emlf.org – double click the piggy bank on the home page.

The deadline for scholarship applications is April 19, 2013.

New EMLF Members
EMLF is pleased to welcome the law firm of Reminger Co., L.P.A. as a new Supporting Member.  Listed members include David R. Hudson, One SeaGate, Suite 1600, Toledo, Ohio 43604, and Gregory D. Brunton, Capitol Square Office Bldg., 65 East State St., 4th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215.

The firm of Maynard, Cooper & Gale, P.C. , 1901 Sixth Avenue North, 2400 Regions Harbert Plaza, Birmingham, AL 35203 has joined the EMLF as a Supporting Member. Attorneys are Jim G. McLaughlin, John B. Holmes and David M. Smith.


Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This