EMLF Special Institute on Mine Safety and Health Law – April 22-23

The Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is pleased to announce the Special Institute on Mine Safety and Health Law, co-sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, on April 22-23 in Washington, DC at the USDOL Auditorium, 200 Constitution Avenue, NW.

The complete program brochure and online registration form can be found at https://emlf.org/index.php?src=gendocs&ref=safety&category=Conference

Joseph A. Main, Assistant Secretary of Labor for Mine Safety & Health, USDOL, will be the keynote speaker. Program topics include MSHA’s Pattern of Violations, Criminal Investigations and Prosecutions, Commission Litigation, MSHA’s Inspection/Investigation Authority,Ventilation Plan Approval and Litigation Process, Flagrant Violations of the Mine Act, and Refuge Alternatives.  There will also be a panel of administrative law judges from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission discussing procedural matters and “Tips for Commission Practitioners.”  The program is accredited for Continuing Legal Education.

The final program presentation will be the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission, sitting in special session at the USDOL auditorium, to hear oral arguments in the cases of McCoy Elkhorn Coal Corp. v. Secretary and Jason Robinson, Employed by McCoy Elkhorn Coal Corp. v. Secretary.  Cheryl C. Blair-Kijewski, USDOL, will argue for the Secretary of Labor and Melanie J. Kilpatrick, attorney with Rajkovich, Williams, Kilpatrick and True of Lexington, KY, will argue in behalf of McCoy Elkhorn.

This two-day program is an exceptional opportunity for the mine safety bar and the attorneys with the Solicitor’s office to mingle informally and get acquainted with one another in a non-adversarial setting, and to meet the ALJs and Commissioners.  A hosted reception is planned for everyone on April 22, at a location to be announced.  Since the late ’80s, the EMLF has been sponsoring this important program for safety lawyers every two years, and of late has been rotating the location between Washington, DC and Las Vegas, in conjunction with the timing of MineExpo International®.

The program committee is chaired by Daniel W. Wolff, Crowell & Moring, with committee members Jonathan Ellis, Steptoe & Johnson; Guy Hensley, Walter Energy Inc.; Suzan E. Moore, Alpha Natural Resources, Inc.; Thomas A. Paige, USDOL Office of the Solicitor; Christopher G. Peterson, Jackson Kelly PLLC; Heidi W. Strassler, USDOL Office of the Solicitor; Noelle Holladay True, Rajkovich, Williams, Kilpatrick & True; Eric R. Waller, Patriot Coal Services;  Cole A. Wist, Holland & Hart; and Christopher W. Wittenauer, Peabody Energy Corp.

We look forward to seeing everyone in Washington on April 22-23.


Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This