Call for McClaugherty Nominations

Nominations for EMLF’s McClaugherty Award have been extended through May 19, 2023 and can be submitted by any EMLF member.

Given since 2004, the award recognizes an individual for outstanding contribution to EMLF and to the field of energy and mineral law.

It’s named for John L. McClaugherty, former managing member of Jackson Kelly’s office in Charleston, WV.

He’s described in a Senate Resolution after his death on March 3, 2003 as an attorney, legal scholar, civic leader, promoter of the arts, former Senate Judiciary chief counsel and dedicated West Virginian.

See a feature story in the Sunday Gazette-Mail Nov. 6, 1994 edition focused on McClaugherty’s effort to construct Charleston Arts Center.

“You have to have a dream and you can’t curtail it,” said McClaugherty, a Princeton, Mercer County native and WVU College of Law graduate. “West Virginians tend to downgrade what they can do. That’s one problem I’ve never had.”

Past recipients: R. Neal Pierce, Thomas C. Means, J. Thomas Lane, Russell L. Schetroma, Joseph J. Zaluski, Edward M. Green, Sharon J. Daniels, David G. Ries, Timothy W. Gresham, Maureen D. Carman, C. David Morrison, Sean Cassidy, Robert G. McLusky, Karen J. Greenwell, Sharon O. Flanery, Kevin K. Douglass, John T. Boyd, II, Kevin Abbott, Erin Magee and Tim Miller. The honoree is chosen by a committee of all past recipients of the award – submit nominations to dawn@emlf.org.

Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This