April 5, 2012

Early Bird Discount Ends Friday for Mineral Titles Program

Save $100 by registering through April 6 for the May 10-11 program on “Resolving Title Issues in Shale Development” at the Wheeling Island Resort in Wheeling, WV. Go to www.emlf.org for complete program information and online registration.

This program will address intermediate and advanced title issues.

EMLF Law Student Scholarship Applications – April 20 Deadline

The deadline for scholarship applications for the 2012-2013 academic year is April 20. Complete information and application forms can be found on the EMLF website.

Sponsors for 33rd Annual Institute Welcome Party

We’re looking forward to the Foundation’s 33rd Annual Institute, June 24-26 at the Charleston Place Hotel in Charleston, South Carolina, and hope you’re planning to join us. Complete program information and online registration is available on the EMLF website at www.emlf.org

The Welcome Party will be Sunday evening from 6:00-8:00 p.m. at the historic Riviera Theater, featuring music by The Corduroy Road, with their special blend of folk/bluegrass music – the group from Athens, GA, who entertained you at Amelia Island and Hilton Head.

If your firm or company is interested in becoming one of the Welcome Party sponsors on June 24, please let us know and we will email additional information to you. Please contact Sharon Daniels at sharon@emlf.org

John L. McClaugherty Award Nominations Open

The John L. McClaugherty Award is the EMLF’s highest honor and is awarded each year to a member who exemplifies high standards for commitment and accomplishment to the EMLF, the legal profession, and the natural resources industry. The late John McClaugherty was a partner at Jackson Kelly in Charleston, WV, where he fostered an interest in mineral law for a generation of attorneys. John was a nationally recognized coal lawyer, philanthropist and founding member of the EMLF who also served as its president. Nominations should be sent to the Executive Director, Energy & Mineral Law Foundation, 340 South Broadway, Suite 101, Lexington, KY 40508 or sent via email correspondence to Sharon Daniels, sharon@eml.org, with a brief recommendation for the candidate. Neal Pierce, the first recipient of the award, will chair the selection committee.

The Award will be announced at the Annual Institute in Charleston, SC, June 24-26. The 2011 recipient was Timothy W. Gresham, Penn Stuart & Eskridge, Abingdon, VA, who joined others who have received this honor: Edward M. Green, Crowell & Moring, Washington, DC; J. Thomas Lane, Bowles Rice McDavid Graff & Love, Charleston, WV; Thomas C. Means, Crowell & Moring, Washington, DC; R. Neal Pierce, Steptoe & Johnson, Columbus, OH; David G. Ries, Thorp Reed & Armstrong, Pittsburgh, PA; Russell L. Schetroma, Steptoe & Johnson, Meadville and Canonsburg, PA; and Joseph J. Zaluski, Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, Lexington, KY.

Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This