April 12, 2013


Utica Shale CLE Program Begins Sunday in Columbus

The EMLF’s first program dedicated to title and development issues in the Utica shale in Ohio begins Sunday with an after-dinner presentation by Regina Gregory, General Counsel and VP – Legal for Access Midstream Partners, headquartered in Oklahoma City.

Access Midstream Partners (formerly Chesapeake Midstream Partners) owns, operates, develops and acquires natural gas, natural gas liquids (NGLs) and oil gathering systems and other midstream energy assets and provides midstream services to Chesapeake, Total E&P USA, Mitsui & Co., Anadarko Petroleum, Statoil ASA  and other producers under long-term, fixed-fee contracts.

Two days of educational sesssions begin April 15 at the Hilton Columbus at Easton, 3900 Chagrin Drive, Columbus, OH 43219.

Deadline for Law Student Scholarship Applications:   April 19, 2013

A reminder to students that the deadline for scholarship applications is fast approaching.  Complete information and application forms are available online.

A minimum of $50,000 will be awarded for the 2013-2014 academic year, including the following special scholarships:

  • EMLF Presidents’ Scholarship – $5,000
  • Paul N. Bowles Memorial Scholarship – $1,000
  • James H. Davis Memorial Scholarship – $1,000
  • Sean Cassidy Scholarship – $2,000
  • Mary Sue Schulberg Memorial Scholarship – $2,000

Annual Institute Registration Now Available Online

For complete information on the 34th Annual Institute at the Renaissance Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel, June 16-18, go to the e-brochure.

Nomination Period for John L. McClaugherty Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the John L. McClaugherty Award for distinguished service to the legal profession, the natural resources industry, and the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation.  The deadline for nominations is May 10, 2013.

The McClaugherty Award is the EMLF’s highest honor and is awarded each year at the Annual Institute to a member who exemplifies high standards of accomplishment and  commitment to the EMLF, the legal profession, and the natural resources industry.

To nominate a candidate for the award, send a letter via mail or email to Sharon Daniels, Executive Director, giving details of the nominee’s service to the legal profession and the natural resources industry, and why they should be recognized with the award.

The recipient is selected by a committee comprised of all past McClaugherty Award recipients, and is chaired this year by Maureen D. Carman, who received the 2012 McClaugherty Award.

Join EMLF!

Membership in the Energy & Mineral Law Foundation is open to anyone who is concerned with issues pertaining to the energy industry.

Related News

Share This